Data Stewardship: My New Post-Graduation Course

A new chapter

Starting my post-graduation course in Data Stewardship applied to Scientific data at the University of Vienna marked a new chapter in my academic career. Last week’s lectures were immensely informative and stimulating, and the professors and classmates welcomed me with open arms to what promises to be a challenging but rewarding learning experience. I am excited to deepen my understanding of data stewardship and apply it to research data. I am confident that this program will enhance my skills and knowledge significantly. Overall, I feel grateful for the opportunity to further my education in data stewardship at such a prestigious university. The journey has just begun, but I can already tell it will be an invaluable one.

Why did I decide to enroll at such a course?

As scientific research progresses and data becomes more readily available, the demand for transparency and reproducibility in the field continues to increase. This course will provide me with the tools and knowledge necessary to meet this demand. From data management to data sharing, I will be able to learn the best practices and improve upon my own scientific processes. In addition, this course will allow me to stay up-to-date on current developments and discussions within Open Science.

Pursuing a post-graduation course in data stewardship will expand my professional horizon, enabling me to work both as a researcher and data steward. This course would allow me to play various roles in scientific institutions and infrastructures such as universities and institutes. In addition, this specialized training will enhance the quality of my own research by ensuring adherence to open data standards and enable me to support colleagues in achieving their goals.

Challenges

I am facing new challenges as I return to student life for post-graduation courses. Not only will I have to adjust to a new learning environment, but I will also need to quickly adapt to novel learning tools that emerged since my time as a student. It can be a bit intimidating, but I know that with hard work and determination I will be able to adapt and succeed. Overall, it’s a thrilling time for me, but I am ready for the challenges ahead.

Allan T. Souza
Allan T. Souza
Postdoctoral researcher / Data scientist / Data steward

My research interests include climate change, biological invasions, conservation, ecology and behavioral ecology.